I am Blessed

Even with as bad as things are now, I have the ability to proclaim that I am, indeed, blessed.

Today I met a woman who had to give up her 5 children, all under the age of 10. She gave them up because, according to her, the state of Texas declared her unfit because she has seizures. She is now childless, homeless and alone. I weep for her and the pain she must feel.

I cannot imagine losing all your children and still surviving, still WANTING to survive. I lost one child at 18 months old and thought my world had come to an end.

I have my children, an apartment and my meager health. I have a supportive mother, friends and neighbors. I am loved and am able to love. I can walk. I can sing. I can laugh. I live.

Even when we think nothing can be worse, there is ALWAYS someone worse off.

I thank my Higher Power for reminding me of this today.

One thought on “I am Blessed

Leave a Reply

